For current Updates and Events of TAG Click here

For information about events that happen on a daily basis, please visit our official blog i.e.

Life Time Contribution Awards


Birth Anniversary of Pai Tiatrist, Joao Agostinho Fernandes and Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Awards

14th December 2013

Every year on 14th December Tiatr Academy of Goa celebrates the Birth Anniversary of Pai Tiatrist Joao Agostinho Fernandes in collaboration with Ravindra Bhavan, Margao. This year the Birth Anniversary of Pai Tiatrist Joao Agostinho Fernandes was celebrated on 14th December 2013 at Pai Tiatrist auditorium and altogether 13 tiatr veterans were honoured at the hands of Shri Dayanand Mandrekar, Hon’ble Minister for Art and Culture with the prestigious ‘Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Awards’ for their yeomen service to the tiatr stage in the presence of Shri. Damodar Naik, Chairman of Ravindra Bhavan, Margao, Guest of Honour Shri. C. D’Silva, a tiatr veteran and other dignitaries. The artistes who were felicitated were Daniel Salvador Lemos alias S. Lemos, Wilson Mazarello alias Wilmix, Osvi Sebastiao Cruz Lourdes Viegas, Caridade Fernandes alias Babush, Anil Chandrakant Devulkar alias Anil Kumar, Carmen Rose Lobo, Francisco Bringel alias Young Chico, Anthony Alvares alias Tony King, Bonifacio Dias, Filipe Pereira, Philomena D’Souza, Joao Manuel Marcelino Fernandes alias Young Marcelino and Ubaldo Paul Fernandes alias Bab Ubaldo.

The Chief Guest lauded the efforts of Tiatr Academy for the recognition given to the versatile artistes and assured all government support to the Academy in the future.

Jacob Fernandes, President of TAG welcomed the gathering and Damodar Naik, Chairman of Ravindra Bhavan, Margao proposed a vote of thanks.

Capucina Alvares, daughter of tiatr stalwart late C. Alvares was also presented with a memento in remembrance of her late father whose  tiatr ‘Konnem Lailo Uzo?’ was staged on the occasion by Mumbai tiatr artistes.

Awardees seen with the Chief Guest, Dayanand Mandrekar, Hon. Minister for Art and Culture and other dignitaries


TAG’s ‘Lifetime Contribution to Khell/Khell-Tiatr Awards 2013’ presented

24th October, 2013

Tiatr Academy’s prestigious ‘Lifetime Contribution to Khell/Khell Tiatr Awards 2013’ were conferred on six Khell/Khell-Tiatr veterans on 24th October, 2013 on the occasion of the Birth Anniversary of late Rosario Rodrigues one of the greatest stalwarts of the Khell-Tiatr Stage at a special function held at the Institute Menezes Braganza Auditorium, Panaji.

Shri Dayanand Mandrekar, Hon. Minister for Art and Culture was the Chief Guest on the occasion and presented the awards to Jess Fernandes, Alcino Furtado, Sebastiao Carvalho, Antonio Manuel Pereira, Netty Carneiro and Carmina Rodrigues. Shri. Mandrekar praised TAG for instituting these awards and acknowledging the sacrifices and the contribution of these great artistes of the Khell-Tiatr. Speaking further, he said that he was astonished to know that late Rosario’s family members including his wife Carmina and uncle Alcino Furtado who are also among the awardees, besides his nephew and niece who performed in the programme are the contributors towards this great art.

Clara Dias a veteran Tiatr artiste who was the Guest of Honour lauded the efforts of TAG in honouring artistes with such awards since its inception. She said that today’s generation are fortunate enough to receive due recognition for their contribution and opportunities which the artistes of yester years did not get during their lifetime.

The function was also graced by Shri Prakash Velip, former Minister who had come specially to congratulate Shri Jess Fernandes who hails from Quepem. Jess Fernandes and Carmina Rodrigues spoke on behalf of the awardees and thanked TAG for honouring them.

Jacob Fernandes, President TAG welcomed the audience and thanked Shri. Dayanand Mandrekar for all the support extended by him to TAG.  The vote of thanks was proposed by Vice President Joe Rose.

The function was well attended by Tiatr lovers. Present on the occasion were TAG’s Council members Jessie Dias, William Fernandes, Cyril Almeida, Agnelo Dias and other tiatr personalities like Angela Moraes, Luiza Fernandes and Cezar D’Mello. Also present was Victor de Sa, Member Secretary of TAG. The function was compered by Joy Fernandes, Cultural Organiser, TAG.

 A musical programme of Kantaram and Comedy Skits was presented on the occasion by Cyril Andrade (Dotor) and his troupe namely Osvy Viegas, Benny de Aldona, Reginaldo de Panchwadi, Cajetan de Curtorim, Cajie de Kakoda, Roma, Carmina, Clint, Celto de Benaulim, Pitush and Agnelo. Music was provided by Seby and his troupe.

Awardees seen with the Chief Guest, Dayanand Mandrekar, Hon. Minister for Art and Culture and other dignitaries


Lucasinho Ribeiro’s 150th Birth Anniversary – TAG honours  4 Tiatr Veterans

Every year on 2nd January Tiatr Academy celebrates the Birth Anniversary of Shri. Lucasinho Ribeiro - The Creator of Tiatr and on this occasion presents Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Awards to non-commercial tiatr artistes who have dedicated their lives to the tiatr stage through their valuable contribution. The award carries a memento, a citation, a shawl and Rs. 20000/-

This year Tiatr Academy has conferred this honour on the following tiatr artistes:-

Joao Travasso
Well-known for his acting Joao Travasso has excelled in female roles and has acted in several village tiatrs and Khell/Khell-Tiatrs. He stepped on the tiatr stage at the age of 16 years in a village tiatr on the occasion of the village feast at Quepem. Till date he has written and composed over 100 Konknai songs.

Luis Cota
Hailing from the family of musicians the Cota family of Santa Cruz, Luis has provided live music to numerous village tiatrs as well as professional tiatrs and has won accolades for his music.  He has also tutored and trained many students in blowing instruments.

Minguel Dias
Known for his yodelling Minguel is also well-known as Minglu de Merces and is probably the only living yodeller of the Konkani stage. At the age of 83 Minguel still has the potential to sing on the stage.

Benedicto Fernandes
At the age of 18 Benedicto made a debut on the tiatr stage in the tiatr ‘Oniechem Boglantt’ which was written and directed by Benedicto himself. He has written and directed numerous tiatrs and is also known as Benny de Aldona.

On this occasssion Shri. Vishnu Surya Wagh, Chairman Kala Academy was the Chief Guest, while Shri. Premanand Lotlikar, President Dalgado Konknni Akademi and a well-known tiatr artiste was a  the Guest of Honour. The occasssion was also graced by the presence of Shri.Yuri Rebero great grandson of Late Lucasinho Rebeiro who was also presented with a Memento as a rememberence of this occasion

The awards were presented at a specially organised  function held on 2nd January 2013 at 6:00 pm at the Open Air Auditorium, Kala Academy Panjim in the presence of Shri.Prince Jacob and Shri. Joe Rose, President and Vice-President. After the awards presentation ceremony Saptarang Arts and Cultural Club, Porvorim presented their award winning Children’s Tiatr ‘Noxibacho Khell’.

The programme was compared by Shri. Lawry Travasso a well known Tiatr Artiste of the Tiatr Stage.

Shri. Vishnu Surya Wagh Presenting the Lifetime Contribution Award to Luis Cota
Shri. Vishnu Surya Wagh Presenting the Lifetime Contribution Award to Joao Travasso
Shri. Vishnu Surya Wagh Presenting the Lifetime Contribution Award to Benedicto Fernandes
Shri. Premanad Lotlikar Presenting a Memento to Shri. Yuri Ribeiro Great Grandson of Lucasinho Ribeiro
Shri. Vishnu Surya Wagh Presenting the Lifetime Contribution Award to Minguel Dias


Website designed by