For current Updates and Events of TAG Click here

For information about events that happen on a daily basis, please visit our official blog i.e.

Life Time Contribution Awards


2nd January 2012

TAG’s Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Awards Presented

Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Awards instituted by Tiatr Academy Goa were presented to Agnelo Dias (musician), Ansoo Rodrigues (singer) and Manohar Bhonsle (actor) at a special function organized by Tiatr Academy Goa to celebrate the 149th Birth Anniversary of late Lucasinho Ribeiro - the Creator of Tiatr – on 2nd January 2012 at the DMK Auditorium, Kala Academy, Panjim.

Speaking on the occasion Prof. Newman Fernandes, Phd, Dean, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences in Education, Sam Higginbottom Deemed University, Allahabad, stressed on the need for innovation on the tiatr stage. Dwelling on the history of the staging of the first tiatr ‘Italian Bhurgo’ by Lucasinho Ribeiro on 17th April 1892 in Bombay, Prof. Newman Fernandes stated that tiatr a unique dramatic form of Goa was an innovation by Lucasinho Ribeiro which continues to entertain people since 1892. He suggested that Tiatr Academy Goa must work to put a commemorative plaque of Lucasinho Ribeiro who staged the 1st show in Bombay at the place where Police Commissioner’s Headquarters stands today. He also suggested that TAG should conduct computer classes to make all tiatr artistes computer literate.

Shri. Tomazinho Cardozo, President of TAG, in his welcome address stated that Tiatr Academy has done very good work for the development of tiatr during the last 3 years. He appealed the audience to take benefits of numerous schemes formulated by TAG.

Jessie Dias, a popular tiatr artiste who was the Guest of Honour also spoke on the occasion.

On this occasion Agnelo Dias, Ansoo Rodrigues and Manohar Bhonsle were conferred with the Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Award at the hands of Prof. Newman Fernandes. Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Award consists of a shawl, a memento, a citation and a cash amount of Rs. 20,000/-

Ansoo Rodrigues and Agnelo Dias expressed their feeling and thanked Tiatr Academy Goa for recognizing their talents on the tiatr stage in the past. Shri. Victor de Sa, Member Secretary of TAG proposed a vote of thanks. 

The formal function was compeered by Tina Costa and Joy Fernandes.

A Konkani musical show under the direction of Tragedy King Mario Menezes was presented on the occasion.

24th October 2012

TAG Felicitates Khell/Khell-Tiatr Artistes

Since the formation of Tiatr Academy of Goa, TAG confers Lifetime Contribution Awards to Khell, Khell-Tiatr, Tiatr, Amateur Tiatr Artistes on different occasions. Lifetime Contribution to Khell/Khell-Tiatr Awards are presented to 3 artistes on the occasion of Birth Anniversary Celebration of one of the stalwarts of Khell-Tiatr late Rosario Rodrigues on 24th October.  This year 3 well-known artistes of yester years from Khell/Khell-Tiatr namely Aniceto Rodrigues, Surendra D. Rankale alias Babu and Marcelina D’Costa alias Celina were conferred with the Lifetime Contribution to Khell/Khell-Tiatr Award for their valuable contribution towards the Khell/Khell-Tiatr stage.

Hon’ble Dy. Chief Minister of Goa Shri. Francisco D’Souza was the Chief Guest for this function organized by TAG on 24th Oct 2012 at the Conference Hall of Ravindra Bhavan, Marago. Speaking on the occasion the Chief Guest lauded the efforts of TAG in conferring the Lifetime Contribution Awards to tiatr personalities for their yeomen service towards our mother tongue Konkani and the Goan culture. He praised the sacrifices of tiatr artistes and requested them to put in more efforts to preserve Konkani and improve the quality of tiatr. He also assured TAG all support on behalf of the Government in all their endeavours.

Lifetime Contribution Awardees seen with Shri. Francisco D'Souza, Dy. Chief Minister of Goa

The Guest of Honour a well-known tiatr artiste Shri. Joe de Cavelossim highlighted the efforts of late Rosario Rodrigues for promoting and developing the Goan Khell-Tiatr. He praised Smt. Carmina Rodrigues, wife of late Rosario Rodrigues in supporting her husband in his works.

The awardees were presented with a memento, a shawl, a citation and an amount of Rs. 20000/- as a part of this award.  TAG presented a special memento to Smt. Carmina Rodrigues as a remembrance of this occasion.

The formal function was followed with a programme of songs, music and skits presented by well known tiatr artistes namely Felcy, Jessica, Menino de Bandar, Lawry Travasso, Comedian Ambe, Comedian Janet, Comedian Selvy, Comedian Agostinho and Vital. Com. Agostinho imitated the character of Rosario Rodrigues in his skits which was well appreciated by the audience. The music was arranged by Filipe Barreto.

Prominent among the tiatr artistes who attended the programme were Former President of TAG Shri. Tomazinho Cardozo, Premanand Lotlikar President of DKA, C.D’Silva, Star of Curtorim, Mario Menezes, William Fernandes, etc Also present was Victor de Sa, Member Secretary of TAG.

Earlier Shri. Prince Jacob, President of TAG welcomed the Guests and the audience and Shri. Joe Rose, Vice President of TAG proposed a vote of thanks.

14th December 2012

TAG  confers Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Awards on 11 tiatr personalities on the occasion of Birth Anniversary of Pai Tiatrist, Joao Agostinho Fernandes

Every year on 14th December, Tiatr Academy of Goa celebrates the birth anniversary of Pai Tiatrist Joao Agostinho Fernandes in collaboration with Ravindra Bhavan Margao. On this occasion TAG presents Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Awards to tiatr artistes who have contributed immensely towards the promotion and development of Tiatr, its song and music during their lifetime. The award consists of a memento, a citation, a shawl and a cash of Rs. 20000/-.

Awardees of TAGs Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Award 2012 seen with the Chief Guest and other Dignitories

This year Tiatr Academy of Goa honoured 11 eminent tiatr personalities for their valuable contribution to the Tiatr Stage. The Tiatr Artistes honoured  are C. D. Silva, Jessie Dias, Jr. Rod, Diana Fernandes, Josefina Dias, Betty Ferns, Joe Rose, August De Panchwadi, Manuel Dourado, Roseferns and Tomazinho Cardozo.

The awards were presented on 14th December 2012 at an impressive ceremony organized by Tiatr Academy Goa and Ravindra Bhavan Margao at 4:00 pm at the Pai Tiatrist Joao Agostinho Fernandes Auditorium, Ravindra Bhavan, Margao Sri Francis D’Souza, Hon’ble Dy. Chief Minister was the Chief Guest and presented the Awards. Shri Cyriaco Dias a veteran tiatr artiste was the Guest of Honour and the function was presided by Shri Prince Jacob, President of Tiatr Academy and Shri. Damodar Naik, Chairman Ravindra Bhavan, Margao.

On this occasion the students learning blowing instruments under TAG’s scheme and others  performed a program of Konkani songs and presented a musical assemble under the leadership of Fr Roland Lynn Fernandes. The awards presentation function was followed by performance of the 1st prize winning tiatr at Kala Academy’s 38th Tiatr Festival ‘Pancho Mandament’ by Alfi Art Production, Diwar.

Website designed by