For current Updates and Events of TAG Click here

For information about events that happen on a daily basis, please visit our official blog i.e.

Life Time Contribution Awards

Go back

Birth Anniversary of Lucasinho Ribeiro, the Creator of Tiatr celebrated –
                              ‘Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Awards’ presented


Tiatr Academy of Goa (TAG) in collaboration with Lucasinho Ribeiro Tiatr Academy, Assagao celebrated the Birth Anniversary of Creator of Tiatr – Lucasinho Ribeiro on 2ndJanuary 2017 at Union High School Ground, Assagao. On this occasion TAG presented ‘Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Award’ (non-commercial) to 4 veteran tiatr artistes viz. Cezar D’Mello, Menino Araujo, Hilariano D’Costa  and Jose Luis Diago Fernandes (Danny of Ribandar) for their immense contribution towards the development of Tiatr. They were felicitated at the hands of the Chief Guest, Hon’ble Minister for Art & Culture, Shri. Dayanand Mandrekar. Besides this, the Lucasinho Ribeiro Tiatr Academy, Assagao felicitated 2 local tiatr artistes from Assagao viz. Loraine Dias  and Stephen Dias. Shri. Tomazinho Cardozo, Ex-Speaker of Goa Legislature Assembly and  Shri. Vasudev Korgaonkar , Vice-President of Zilla Parishad North were the Guest of Honours.

Awardee Shri. Cezar D’Mello and  Jose Luis Diago Fernandes (Danny of Ribandar) on behalf of the other awardees thanked Tiatr Academy of Goa for recognizing their contribution to tiatr.

Shri. Tomazinho Cardozo, explained how he gathered information of  Lucasinho Ribeiro  and requested the State Government to name the main auditorium of the proposed Ravindra Bhavan, Mapusa after him.  Shri. Victor D’Souza, Secretary of Lucasinho Ribeiro Tiatr Academy, Assagao and  Shri. Vasudev Korgaonkar also spoke on the occassion

Chief Guest, Shri. Dayanand Mandrekar congratulated the awardees  and appreciated the hardwork  they have done  towards the development of tiatr.   He also appreciated Mr. Tomazinho Cardozo for his efforts  in gathering the information on Lucasinho Ribeiro  and documenting it, as a result of which one can access it now through the net

Earlier, Shri. Agostinho Temudo, President of TAG welcomed the guests and the audience.  Shri. William Fernandes, Vice-President and Shri. Jose Alexandre Rodrigues, Member Secretary of TAG were  also present on the dais. Smt. Jessie Dias, President of Lucasinho Ribeiro Tiatr Academy, Assagao proposed a vote of thanks.

The function was compered by Ruildo D’Souza, Treasurer of LRTA, Assagao.

This ceremony was followed by a Children’s  tiatr ‘Good for Nothing’ by Michael Gracias  and his troupe. 


(Jose Alexandre Rodrigues)
Member Secretary


Website designed by