For current Updates and Events of TAG Click here

For information about events that happen on a daily basis, please visit our official blog i.e.

Life Time Contribution Awards

Go back

Birth Anniversary of Lucasinho Ribeiro, the Creator of Tiatr celebrated –
‘Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Awards - 2016’ presented

Tiatr Academy of Goa (TAG) in collaboration with Lucasinho Ribeiro Tiatr Academy, Assagao celebrated the Birth Anniversary of Creator of Tiatr – Lucasinho Ribeiro on 2ndJanuary 2016 at Union High School Ground, Assagao. On this occasion TAG presented ‘Lifetime Contribution to Tiatr Award 2016’(non-commercial) to 3 veteran tiatrartiste’sviz. Batu Rodrigues, Jose Mascarenhas and Cirilo Fernandes for their immense contribution towards the development of Tiatr. They were felicitated at the hands of the Chief Guest, Hon’ble Minister for Art & Culture, Shri. Dayanand Mandrekar. Besides, these 3 artistes, the Lucasinho Ribeiro Tiatr Academy, Assagao felicitated 2 local tiatr artistes from Assagao viz. Samson Gomes and Edwin Fernandes. Well-known tiatr personality, Fr. Nevel Gracias was the Guest of Honour. Smt. Priyanka Sangelkar, Sarpanch of Assagao-Badem Panchayat and Fr. Santano Agnelo Quadros, Parish Priest of Assagao were the Special Invitees.

Chief Guest, Shri. Dayanand Mandrekar while congratulating the awardees said that these artistes have worked untiringlytowards the development of tiatr right from their childhood without any monetary gains.

Fr. Nevel Gracias, said that hundreds of artistes support their families by tiatrs. He further said that it becomes very difficult to have performances in cities like Margao and Panjim due to unavailability of auditoriums and requested the State Government to provide an auditorium exclusively for staging Tiatrs.

Awardee Shri. Cirilo D. Fernandes on behalf of the other awardees thanked the Tiatr Academy of Goa for recognizing their works.

Senior most tiatr artiste Shri. C. D’Silva, General Council Member of TAG welcomed the guests and the audience while President of Lucasinho Ribeiro Tiatr Academy, Assagao, Smt. Jessie Dias spoke on the activities of the Academy and also introduced their two awardees. Illustrious son of Assagao, late journalist Joel D’Souza, a member of LRTA, Assagao who passed away recently was also remembered on the occasion. Shri. Victor D’Souza, Secretary of Lucasinho Ribeiro Tiatr Academy, Assagao proposed a vote of thanks. Shri. Jose Alexandre Rodrigues, Member Secretary of TAG was also present on the dais.

The function was compered by Ruildo D’Souza, Treasurer of LRTA, Assagao. Jess Luz, J.C.A of TAG co-ordinated the programme.

This ceremony was followed by a Konkani musical show presented by Anthony San and Troupe. 


Website designed by